>Day One…

>I woke up to a strange sensation this morning… sunlight…bright SUNLIGHT peeking in through the curtains.  I’ve decided I’m going to like Winnipeg after all. According to Wikipedia (which is such a ‘reliable’ source of info..but well let’s face it.. this is NO masters’ paper–it’s my blog, I can quote whatever sources I want to quote!) 

Winnipeg is ranked as Canada’s second sunniest city year-round,second for clearest skies year-round, and second for sunniest city in Canada in spring and winter.

After living in the Arctic experiencing the ‘almost’ 24 hour darkness, and not ‘seeing the sun’ since last November…I think this is going to be a good city! I like sun, and I have awesome killer shades…and I plan to use them a lot! 

I checked out of the hotel, picked up my rental…and stopped off at Denny’s for some ‘brunch’.  Then drove myself guided by the hotel map and my printed out google directions to the friends of friends that I would be staying with for the next 2 weeks.  (yes, I don’t have to hotel it for very long!).  Surprisingly driving a car in a strange city, with tons of traffic was not that stressful.  I really enjoyed it!

I had a great afternoon, had tea with my new friends I’d be staying with..and then headed out to check out an apartment.  Yes, that’s right… I saw a new apartment–all on New Year’s Day! It was nice, a two bedroom unit, in the area I want…but need to see more apartments til I find my new home. 

So many things to think about, so many things to figure out….but one thing at a time!

About SarahontheRoad

This blog is a spot to record my adventures in life while living where ever I may be!

Posted on January 2, 2010, in apartment living, switching provinces. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. >So I guess the chances of finding an Edward there is gonna be slim, eh? 🙂 Must be nice to have sun again!

Leave a comment